Sign In

Maryland State Library Governance

Maryland State Library Board Overview

The Maryland State Library Board shall be the successor to the Maryland Advisory Council on Libraries, providing that this Act may not affect the terms of the current seven members of the Maryland Advisory Council on Libraries. The duties and responsibilities of the Maryland Advisory Council on Libraries will be transferred to the State Library Board.

The Maryland State Library Board (MSLB) consists of twelve members. The Governor appoints seven members, five of whom are selected from the public at large, one is a professional librarian, and one is a library trustee. The remaining five members serve ex officio representing the Secretary of Higher Education, the President of the Board of Trustees of Enoch Pratt Free Library, the President of the Maryland Library Association, the Dean of the University of Maryland College of Library and Information Services, and the President of the Maryland Association of School Librarians (MASL).

In general, the State Library Board represents the interests of Maryland citizens for better library services, advises all levels of government, and promotes the improvement of library services in the State. The Board is authorized to gather information on the needs of libraries, oversee the State Library Agency and exercise general direction and control of library development in Maryland. The Board is responsible for the adoption of rules and regulations, the establishment of library policies and procedures for the statewide system of libraries and advises the Governor on library matters. Each year the State Library Board reports to the Governor and Maryland citizens on the support, condition, progress, and needs of libraries. They consider the State’s library needs and recommend to the Governor and the General Assembly desirable legislation. The State Library Board approves county public library capital projects for State funding.

July 1, 2018 - June 30, 2019

Board Members

  • James Fish
  • Sharan Marshall
  • Sharon Maneki
  • Al Martin, Chair
  • Wilson Parran
  • Lynn Wheeler
  • Robert Windley

Ex Officio Members

  • Dr. Jon Enriquez
  • Heidi Daniel
  • Keith Marzullo
  • Emmanuel Faulkner
  • Joseph Thompson

MSDE Representative

  •  Laura Hicks

MSL Representatives

  • Irene M. Padilla
  • Leslie Bowman
  • Tamar Sarnoff

School Libraries Representative

  •  Laura Hicks

  Meeting Dates

  • Wednesday, June 13, 2018
  • Friday, September 14, 2018
  • Friday, December 7, 2018
  • Friday, March 15, 2019
  • Wednesday, June 13, 2019

Meetings are 10:00 am - 3:00 pm at the Anne Arundel County Public Library Headquarters.

Date Agenda Minutes
Wednesday, June 13, 2018
June 13, 2018 Board Agenda

June 13, 2018, Board Minutes
Friday, September 14, 2018
Press Release
September 14, 2018, Board Agenda
September 14, 2018, Board Minutes
Friday, December 7, 2018
Press Release
December 7, 2018, Board Agenda

December 7, 2018, Board Minutes
Friday, March 15, 2019
Press  Release
March 15, 2019, Board Agenda
​Friday, April 19, 2019
Press Release
April 19, 2019 Board Agenda